I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Guwahati Development Department


Guwahati is important not for Assam alone but for the entire Northeast. There are major plans to make Guwahati as an International Trade Centre. In step with this, the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Assam in his speech on 15 August 2016, India's 70th Independence Day, announced the formation of 'State Capital Region' encompassing Guwahati and its peripheral areas in line with the 'National Capital Region'.


The Assam State Capital Region Development Authority (ASCRDA) was formed for the purpose of planning, co-ordinating and supervising the proper, orderly and development of the areas in ASCR in consonance with different agencies including Guwahati Metropolitan Development Authority (GMDA), Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC), other Urban Development Authorities, other Urban Local Bodies in the proposed region, Zilla Parishads of all component districts and other concerned departments.


The Draft ASCRDA Bill, 2017 to enable the formation of ASCRDA has been prepared by GDD through GMDA after series of meeting with Hon’ble Chief Minister, Assam and with the Minister, GDD.  The Draft ASCRDA Bill, 2017 shall be placed for Cabinet approval and for the State Legislative Assembly by the government.

In the Draft ASCRDA Bill, the proposed Assam State Capital Region area is as follows:

  • Kamrup Metropolitan District (all Circles)
  • Kamrup District (Hajo, Palashbari, Rangia, Goroimari, Chaygaon, Boko, North Guwahati, Kamalpur and Koya Circle)
  • Nalbari District (Barkhetri, Nalbari, PachimNalbari, Ghograpar, Barbhag,Banekuchi Circle)
  • Darrang District (Sipajhar Circle)
  • Morigaon District (Mayong and Marigaon Circle)